Stages of Teething in Babies

4 min read

There are five teething stages in babies beginning with twenty primary teeth eruption. Baby teething age normally begins at about six months, even though the exact teething schedule may differ from each one. In most babies, first, the lower central incisors (lower two front teeth) break out, followed by the upper central incisors (top two front teeth). Infants might get peculiarly grumpy or cranky while their brand-new teeth erupt, as teething is a really uneasy process. From the moment baby teeth eruption starts until a kid has formed their complete set of twenty milk teeth, parents feel as if they are experiencing much more trouble than average with their kid.

baby smiling with first two teeth

Normal signs and symptoms of teething are drooling, sensitive or sore gums, chewing on hard objects, and atypical grouchiness. Umpteen parents think teething may also result in feverishness and looseness of the bowels, but these thoughts have been disproven by research. Other than temper alteration, all symptoms as a result of teething are because of modification in the oral cavity and gums.

Baby Teeth Appearance:

The baby teeth follow an order of appearance that according to the age:

  1. Lower Central Incisors- Between 5 – 10 months
  2. Upper Central Incisors- Between 6-12 months
  3. Upper Lateral Incisors- Between 9-13 months
  4. Lower Lateral Incisors- Between 10-16 months
  5. Upper First Molars- Between 12-18 months
  6. Lower First Molars- Between 12-18 months
  7. Upper Canine- Between 16-22 months
  8. Lower Canine- Between 16-22 months
  9. Lower Second Molar- Between 20-31 months
  10. Upper Second Molar- Between 25-33 months

What are the Teething Stages?

Normally lasting over two years, a baby’s teeth eruption is a really hard time period for both parents and their babies to go through with. Being informed about what to expect during this hard period can help parents in alleviating the suffering of their baby and efficiently usher them into toddlerhood. Now let us understand more about baby teething stages.

The 5 Stages of Teething:

The five stages of teething are as follows:

baby teeth order chart

Stage 1: (0-6 Months)

Infants are born with a complete set of twenty baby teeth situated in the jaw cavity below the gums. The baby teeth are also referred to as ‘milk teeth,’ as during this time period infants typically take in only a milk diet. During this phase, no teeth normally come out.

Stage 2: (6-8 Months)

The first teeth begin to break out in this period. The upper and lower front teeth, which are also called the incisors, start erupting at about the age of six months, but signs or symptoms of soreness may get evident before the baby crosses the six-month mark. Prior to emerging, the uneven edges of the teeth press against the gums. When this occurs, the baby will, therefore, start gnawing on toys, hands, and other accessible hard objects. Pressing the gums may alleviate the painfulness and suffice as a deviation for infants, thus parents should unquestionably give their baby ample and grade-appropriate teethers at this time.

Stage 3: (10-14 Months)

At this stage, the primary molars start to appear in the upper and lower jaws in the rear of the oral cavity. The symptoms at this stage are akin to stage two, but normally parents will notice a clear change in irritability, the neediness to gnaw on hard objects, and excessive drooling. During this period of time, the infant may usually go through a loss of appetite as well as begin to lose sleep at night-time. During stage three, it is ordinary for an infant’s sleep pattern to get more sporadic. If the irritation appears to become abrasive or if they seem to be going through undue painfulness, contact a pediatrician for suggested OTC pain medication.

Stage 4: (16-22 Months)

During this time period, the teeth in the middle of the upper and lower incisors and molars, the canines, appear. The exact aforementioned suggestions as stage two and three apply for providing comfort for a teething baby during this period.

Stage 5: (25-33 Months)

This is the most uneasy teething stage for some babies. The biggest primary teeth, which are the large molars, break out in this period. Parents usually have a difficult time calming their little ones during this time, trying their accustomed methods to no use. Parents are therefore required to buck up to attempt brand-new pacifying techniques till something works.

baby teething first two teeth

How Long Does the First Stage of Teething Last?

Teething takes close to eight days, which includes four days prior and three days after the tooth comes through and through the gum. Teething symptoms only last a couple of days, and so, if the baby is experiencing irritation for a prolonged period of time, it is safe to presume it is not from teething.

Which Stage Hurts the Most?

Getting even of the molars! They are the biggest teeth, and some babies will find this to be the most agonizing period of time of teething. More often than not, it’s the first tooth that comes in which is really excruciating for an infant. This is because it’s the first one causing a brand-new and strange feeling for the baby.

Teething can be a frustrating period of time for both the parents and the babies. But just know that this instant in time is transient. By the time your kid is approximately three years old, they’ll have a full grin to spell you with.

Also Read : 8 Natural And Effective Remedies For Teething Babies

Responses (0)

Please check a captcha

Want curated content sharply tailored for your exact stage of parenting?

Discover great local businesses around you for your kids.

Get regular updates, great recommendations and other right stuff at the right time.


Our site uses cookies to make your experience on this site even better. We hope you think that is sweet.